Competitions, Surf culture

Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational 2023

Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational 2023

After seven years since its last edition, this past Sunday, January 22, and after being postponed so that the weather forecasts were optimal, the 10th edition of the Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational was finally held, the largest big wave surfing championship prestigious in the world, with waves that as they passed through the buoys were almost 10 meters high with periods of 19 seconds. 

To everyone's surprise, and while on duty that same day, local Waimea Bay lifeguard Luke Shepardson scored 89 out of 90, with the judges scoring the three best solos from each surfer and being able to give a maximum of 30 points for each wave.

For the first time the Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational had girls participating, specifically, there were 6 women who joined the 34 men in the prestigious event held on the beach of Waimea Bay, where it is worth highlighting a tremendous wipeout by Keala Kennelly.

  • Eddie Aikau Invitational Results 2022-2023
  1. Luke Shepardson
  2. John John Florence
  3. Mark Healey
  4. Billy Kemper
  5. Kai Lenny
  6. Zeke Lau
  7. Landon McNamara
  8. Keali'i Mamala
  • Historic record of Eddie Aikau
  • 1986 - Denton Miyamura
  • 1987 - Clyde Aikau
  • 1990 - Keone Downing
  • 1999 - Noah Johnson
  • 2001 - Ross Clarke-Jones
  • 2002 - Kelly Slater
  • 2004 - Bruce Irons
  • 2009 - Greg Long
  • 2016 - John John Florence
  • 2023 - Luke Shepardson